Maple Macaroons | Gluten-Free, Egg-Free

Today over at the Williams-Sonoma blog, The Blender, you'll find one of my latest recipes. These gluten-free Maple Macaroons are a safe number for family, friends and co-workers who avoid some or all of the top eight food allergens (if you don't consider coconut a tree nut). In place of eggs, these are bound with maple syrup and coconut butter and are naturally gluten-free and dairy-free.


Coconut butter is a densely nutritious spread made from whole, raw coconut flesh (not just the oil). It has been heralded for its medium-chain fatty acid-rich oil, dietary fiber, protein, vitamins and minerals. It contains no additives—simply pure, unadulterated coconut. Coconut butter gives these crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside macaroons a double dose of coconut goodness.

Maple Macaroons


1/3 cup Artisana® COCONUT BUTTER (see notes)
6 tablespoons pure MAPLE SYRUP
1 teaspoon pure gluten-free VANILLA EXTRACT
1/8 teaspoon SALT
2 cups finely SHREDDED COCONUT, unsweetened
Optional: Melted Enjoy Life® CHOCOLATE CHIPS (gluten-, dairy-, and soy-free)


  1. Preheat oven to 325˚F.
  2. Melt coconut butter in large saucepan over low heat. Whisk in maple syrup, vanilla, and salt. Stir in shredded coconut and combine well.
  3. Gently pack coconut mixture into a small or medium dough scoop and place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet, gently reshaping mounds as needed. Bake 12 to 15 minutes. Transfer cookie sheet to refrigerator and chill.
  4. Optional: Drizzle with melted chocolate and allow chocolate to harden in a cool, dry place. Store in air-tight container in refrigerator or at room temperature. Makes approximately 24 small or 12 medium macaroons.


If coconut oil separation has occurred in jar of coconut butter, causing a white, solid top layer, simply warm and blend back together. Coconut butter is not the same thing as coconut oil.Artisana® Organic Raw Coconut Butter may be found in most natural and health food stores and online. It is made in a facility that processes tree nuts, but does not process peanuts, gluten, dairy or soy. Always consult manufacturers’ labels. Be advised that most individuals with tree nut allergies can tolerate coconut; however, some cannot. Always disclose ingredients.